The independent voice of cricket

South Africa v England

Quinton de Kock replaces Faf du Plessis as South Africa ODI captain

Quinton de Kock captain
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

Quinton de Kock has been named South Africa’s new ODI captain, replacing Faf du Plessis.

De Kock’s first assignment will be the upcoming three-match series with England, with South Africa announcing a 15-man squad including five players uncapped in ODIs: Lutho Sipamla, Kyle Verreynne, Sisanda Magala, Janneman Malan and Bjorn Fortuin.

Du Plessis, who took the reins across all formats for South Africa in 2017, has not been named in the squad. Speculation has been rife recently in regards to du Plessis’ international future. After England wrapped up victory in the third Test with the Proteas in Port Elizabeth on Monday, the 35-year-old admitted that the fourth Test at the Wanderers could be his last on home soil.

On the appointment of de Kock as skipper, CSA director of cricket Graeme Smith said: “We all know the quality of the player that Quinton de Kock has grown to become. Over the years, we have watched him grow in confidence and become one of the top ODI wicket-keeper batsmen in the world.

“He has a unique outlook and manner in which he goes about his business and is tactically very street smart. We are confident that the new leadership role will bring out the best in him as a cricketer.”

The three-match ODI series between South Africa and England begins on February 4.

South Africa ODI squad: Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Temba Bavuma, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Jon Jon Smuts, Andile Phehlukwayo, Lutho Sipamla, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi, Sisanda Magala, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Janneman Malan, Kyle Verreynne

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99