The independent voice of cricket

Indian Premier League 2019

IPL 2019 league stage fixtures announced; all games to be held in India

by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

The BCCI has revealed the IPL 2019 league stage fixtures having previously released the schedule for just the first two weeks of the tournament amid uncertainty over the hosting of future games owing to general elections in India.

But for the first time, the authorities have managed to make arrangements for the whole tournament to be played in the country in a general election year. The tournament will commence on March 23, as announced earlier, and is set to conclude on May 5.

Previously the IPL has been taken off Indian shores to avoid clashes with election dates, either in part or in whole. The 2009 edition was hosted entirely in South Africa, while part of the 2014 edition was played in UAE. In another significant move, each of the teams will play all their home games at their pre-defined home venue.

The tournament will kick-off with Chennai Super Kings, the defending champions, taking on Royal Challengers Bangalore at home. The final match of the league stages will see Mumbai Indians take on Kolkata Knight Riders at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

With the play-offs to follow thereafter, one can reasonably expect the tournament to last until around May 10, giving players a short break before preparations begin for the 2019 World Cup in England, which gets underway on May 30.



March 23 – Chennai Super Kings v Royal Challengers Bangalore
March 31 – Chennai Super Kings v Rajasthan Royals
April 6 – Chennai Super Kings vs Kings XI Punjab
April 9 – Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders
April 23 – Chennai Super Kings vs Sunrisers Hyderabad
April 26 – Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians
May 1 – Chennai Super Kings vs Delhi Capitals


March 24 – Kolkata Knight Riders v Sunrisers Hyderabad
March 27 – Kolkata Knight Riders v Kings XI Punjab
April 12 – Kolkata Knight Riders v Delhi Capitals
April 14 – Kolkata Knight Riders v Chennai Super Kings
April 19 – Kolkata Knight Riders v Royal Challengers Bangalore
April 25 – Kolkata Knight Riders v Rajasthan Royals
April 28 – Kolkata Knight Riders v Mumbai Indians


March 24 – Mumbai Indians v Delhi Capitals
April 3 – Mumbai Indians v Chennai Super Kings
April 10 – Mumbai Indians v Kings XI Punjab
April 13 – Mumbai Indians v Rajasthan Royals
April 15 – Mumbai Indians v Royal Challengers Bangalore
May 2 – Mumbai Indians v Sunrisers Hyderabad
May 5 – Mumbai Indians v Kolkata Knight Riders


March 25 – Rajasthan Royals v Kings XI Punjab
April 2 – Rajasthan Royals v Royal Challengers Bangalore
April 7 – Rajasthan Royals v Kolkata Knight Riders
April 11 – Rajasthan Royals v Chennai Super Kings
April 20 – Rajasthan Royals v Mumbai Indians
April 22 – Rajasthan Royals v Delhi Capitals
April 27 – Rajasthan Royals v Sunrisers Hyderabad


March 26 – Delhi Capitals v Chennai Super Kings
March 30 – Delhi Capitals v Kolkata Knight Riders
April 4 – Delhi Capitals v Sunrisers Hyderabad
April 18 – Delhi Capitals v Mumbai Indians
April 20 – Delhi Capitals v Kings XI Punjab
April 28 – Delhi Capitals v Royal Challengers Bangalore
May 4 – Delhi Capitals v Rajasthan Royals


March 28 – Royal Challengers Bangalore v Mumbai Indians
April 5 – Royal Challengers Bangalore v Kolkata Knight Riders
April 7 – Royal Challengers Bangalore v Delhi Capitals
April 21 – Royal Challengers Bangalore v Chennai Super Kings
April 24 – Royal Challengers Bangalore v Kings XI Punjab
April 30 – Royal Challengers Bangalore v Rajasthan Royals
May 4 – Royal Challengers Bangalore v Sunrisers Hyderabad


March 29 – Sunrisers Hyderabad v Rajasthan Royals
March 31 – Sunrisers Hyderabad v Royal Challengers Bangalore
April 6 – Sunrisers Hyderabad v Mumbai Indians
April 14 – Sunrisers Hyderabad v Delhi Capitals
April 17 – Sunrisers Hyderabad v Chennai Super Kings
April 21 – Sunrisers Hyderabad v Kolkata Knight Riders
April 29 – Sunrisers Hyderabad v Kings XI Punjab


March 30 – Kings XI Punjab v Mumbai Indians
April 1 – Kings XI Punjab v Delhi Capitals
April 8 – Kings XI Punjab v Sunrisers Hyderabad
April 13 – Kings XI Punjab v Royal Challengers Bangalore
April 16 – Kings XI Punjab v Rajasthan Royals
May 3 – Kings XI Punjab v Kolkata Knight Riders
May 5 – Kings XI Punjab v Chennai Super Kings

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99