The independent voice of cricket

International Cricket

Pat Cummins & Alyssa Healy win big at Australian Cricket Awards

by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

The 2019 Australian Cricket Awards saw Pat Cummins receive the Allan Border Medal, while Alyssa Healy took home the Belinda Clark Award.

Cummins, 25, became the first bowler to win the Allan Border Medal since Mitchell Johnson triumphed in 2014, with Steve Smith and David Warner each winning the award twice over the previous four years.

The fast bowler received 156 votes, beating off-spinner Nathan Lyon by six votes, while Aaron Finch claimed 146 votes to finish third. Cummins took 44 wickets in the voting period (9 January 2018 to 7 January 7, 2019), with 36 coming in the Test arena.

Healy claimed the Belinda Clark Award for Australia’s best female cricketer of the year, and also received the Women’s ODI and T20I player of the year awards. The wicketkeeper-batter was in excellent form in both formats across the year, scoring 907 runs at an average of 45.34, with 225 of those runs coming in Australia’s successful World T20 campaign in November as Healy was named player of the tournament.

Alyssa Healy

Healy averaged 56.25 at the 2018 ICC Women’s World T20

Despite being edged out by Cummins for the AB Medal, Lyon did collect the award for the men’s Test player of the year after receiving 25 votes, beating the second-placed Cummins by three votes.

In the limited-overs categories, Marcus Stoinis was named the ODI player of the year, while Glenn Maxwell received the T20I player of the year award.

The awards for the international categories were based on votes upon each match from players, umpires and media on a 3-2-1 basis.

Full list of winners:

Allan Border Medal – Pat Cummins
Belinda Clark Award – Alyssa Healy
Men’s Test Player of the Year – Nathan Lyon
Men’s ODI Player of the Year – Marcus Stoinis
Women’s ODI Player of the Year – Alyssa Healy
Men’s T20I Player of the Year – Glenn Maxwell
Women’s T20I Player of the Year – Alyssa Healy
Men’s Domestic Player of the Year – Matthew Wade
Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year – Will Pucovski
Women’s Domestic Player of the Year – Heather Graham
Betty Wilson Young Cricketer of the Year – Georgia Wareham
Community Champion Award – Moises Henriques
Australian Cricket Hall of Fame inductees – Cathryn Fitzpatrick, Dean Jones, Billy Murdoch

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99