The independent voice of cricket


Moises Henriques and Nic Maddinson share Shield player of the year award

by Wisden Staff 1 minute read

All-rounder Moises Henriques and batsman Nic Maddinson have been named as joint Sheffield Shield players of the year for the 2019/20 season, Cricket Australia has announced.

Victoria’s Maddinson was the tournament’s leading run-scorer, hitting 780 runs at an average of 86.66. New South Wales’ Henriques received the same number of votes from umpires (16) as Maddinson after hitting 512 runs at an average of 51.20.

Twenty-year-old all-rounder Cameron Green received 13 votes, while Shaun Marsh received 11 and Peter Siddle 10.

New South Wales were crowned Shield champions earlier this month following the cancellation of the tournament final due to the coronavirus outbreak. They finished top of the standings during the regular season with Victoria placed second.

The announcement of the state cricket awards also revealed that Ashleigh Gardner, the Sydney Sixers all-rounder, has won the Lords Taverners indigenous player of the year award for the second time. Gardner was part of the Australian line-up that won the Women’s T20 World Cup earlier this month.

Tasmania’s men’s and women’s sides have both won the spirit of cricket awards; however, the women’s side will share their award with ACT and NSW.

Paul Wilson won the CA umpire award.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99