The independent voice of cricket


England Cricket World Cup heroes recognised in New Year Honours list

cricket honours list
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

Four members of England’s 2019 Cricket World Cup-winning team have been recognised in the New Year Honours list.

Captain Eoin Morgan, BBC Sports Personality of the Year Ben Stokes, Joe Root and Jos Buttler have received a CBE, OBE and MBEs respectively for their services to cricket. Trevor Bayliss, who coached the side that won the final against New Zealand at Lord’s this July, has also received an OBE.

“I’m very proud to have been awarded a CBE,” said Morgan. “Winning the World Cup has been a dream come true and the honours and awards that have come since that day at Lord’s really mean a lot to everyone connected with the team.

“The events of that day at Lord’s were the result of many years of hard work and dedication, and I see this honour –and the honours for my teammates – as honours for the whole team, for everything they put into winning that tournament and getting over the line.”

Cricket’s representation on his year’s Honours list is not quite what it was after England’s famous 2005 Ashes series win. After that particular triumph, all 12 players fielded by England across the series received honours.

However, England’s men are more well represented than England’s women were after winning the Women’s World Cup in 2017, in similarly dramatic circumstances. After that triumph, three players – Player of the Match in the final Anya Shrubsole, captain Heather Knight and Player of the Tournament Tammy Beaumont – and head coach Mark Robinson received honours.

Five other figures from the world of cricket have been recognised in the Honours list for their services to cricket, including ECB chairman Colin Graves, who has been awarded a CBE. Elsewhere, former England wicketkeeper Alan Knott, who holds the record for the most dismissals taken by an English wicketkeeper in Test cricket, has received an MBE. West Indian greats Clive Lloyd and Gordon Greenidge have received a knighthood and an order of St Michael and St George Knight Commander respectively while Keith Cook, an employee at Warwickshire for 46 years, has been awarded the British Empire Medal.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99