The 11th edition of the Caribbean Premier League starts on August 16 (August 17 as per India time). Here’s the full list of CPL 2023 captains for the six teams.

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Defending champions Jamaica Tallawahs will kick off CPL 2023 with a clash against St Lucia Kings at the Darren Sammy Stadium on August 16. A total of 34 games will be played across five Caribbean nations of St Lucia, St Kitts, Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana, and Barbados.

The 30-match league stage will run from August 16 to September 18, followed by four playoffs in Guyana between September 20 and 25. CPL 2023 will also see the introduction of red cards in cricket, where fielding sides will be penalised with having one less fielder on the field if they maintain slow over rates.

[breakout id=”0″][/breakout]

Among major player news, Ambati Rayudu will make his CPL debut after having retired from Indian cricket recently. Sri Lankan spinner Maheesh Theekshana will be available for the Barbados Royals only until the start of the Asia Cup, and will subsequently be replaced by Afghanistan’s Qais Ahmed, while Scotland’s Chris Sole will be replaced by Bhanuka Rajapaksa by St Lucia Kings after five matches.

CPL 2023 captains: Full list of skippers for each CPL team

Jamaica Tallawahs

Brandon King will take over from Rovman Powell as the captain of the Tallawahs in CPL 2023. Powell led them to victory last season but has been traded with leg-spinner Hayden Walsh.

St Lucia Kings

Faf du Plessis will continue as the captain of the St Lucia Kings for CPL 2023. Having made it into three successive playoffs including two finals, the Kings would be looking to go the distance this time under the leadership of the South African stalwart.

Barbados Royals

Rovman Powell will lead the Barbados Royals in CPL 2023, taking over from David Miller who was the official captain of the franchise last year but shared leadership responsibilities with Kyle Mayers in his absence.

St Kitts & Nevis Patriots

The Patriots will be led by opener Evin Lewis in CPL 2023, taking over from Dwayne Bravo.

Guyana Amazon Warriors

The Guyana Amazon Warriors will continue with Shimron Hetmyer as their skipper for CPL 2023.

Trinbago Knight Riders

Kieron Pollard will continue as the captain of Trinbago Knight Riders and would be hoping to improve on their last season’s bottom-placed finish.