Ajantha Mendis produced a magical 6-13 against India in Karachi to bowl India out for 173 and win the 2008 Asia Cup.

Mendis opened his account with the wicket of Virender Sehwag, before bowling both Yuvraj Singh and Suresh Raina.

He pinned Rohit Sharma leg before wicket for his fourth, while Irfan Pathan – caught at slip – and RP Singh – bowled – completed the six-for.

The mystery spinner had India’s batting order in tatters.

Watch: Ajantha Mendis takes 6/13 as Sri Lanka beat India in 2008 Asia Cup final

Sri Lanka had earlier scored 273 in their innings, thanks largely to 125 from Sanath Jayasuriya who was ably supported by Tillakaratne Dilshan (56).

The damage done by Mendis meant Sri Lanka won the game comfortably by exactly 100 runs.