WPL schedule: The inaugural season of the Women’s Premier League is set to take place in March 2023 – here is the full fixtures list and match timings for the competition.

Five franchises are set to compete in the tournament, after a record-breaking auction saw teams sold for a collective INR 4,669.99 crore. There will be teams based in Ahmedabad, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Delhi and Lucknow, with the owners of Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Capitals all successful in the auction.

It was announced in early February that 409 players will go under the hammer in the player auction, which is set to take place on February 13. Fifteen countries are represented among the names on the extensive list, with 24 players having set themselves at the highest price (INR 50 lakh). Eight players from associate nations are also on the list; coming from the UAE, Hong Kong, Thailand, the Netherlands and the USA.

The five franchises will have INR 12 crore to spend on their squad at the auction, with a minimum of 15 players and a maximum of 18 in each.

Some franchises have already confirmed all or part of their coaching lineup. Former India captain Jhulan Goswami will be the Mumbai bowling coach. She will join Charlotte Edwards, who will be head coach of the team. Rachael Haynes and Mithali Raj will form part of the coaching staff for the Gujarat side.

WPL schedule: Full fixtures of Women’s Premier League 2023

A full schedule for the tournament has yet to be announced, but it has been confirmed that it will take place from March 4 to March 26.

All of the matches in the 2023 edition will be held at the Brabourne Stadium and the DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai.