Islamabad United won their third Pakistan Super League title, beating Multan Sultans in the final. Here is Wisden’s PSL 2024 Team of the Tournament.

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Babar Azam – Peshawar Zalmi

569 runs @ 56.90, SR: 142.60, 5 fifties, 1 hundred, HS: 111*

Babar was the highest run-scorer of the tournament, notching up six fifty-plus scores in 11 games. With Saim Ayub at the other end for company, he was able to play his natural game with ease, anchoring the Peshawar innings and still ending up with a strike rate of over 140.

Saim Ayub – Peshawar Zalmi

345 runs @ 31.36, SR: 157.53, 2 fifties, HS: 88
8 wickets @ 22.37, ER: 7.45, BBI: 2-15

Ayub followed a breakthrough PSL 2023 with an even better PSL 2024. To go with his swashbuckling starts, Ayub also provided a handy mystery-spin option with the ball, picking up eight wickets. His all-round showing has opened up several avenues for the Pakistan T20I side.

Usman Khan – Multan Sultans

430 runs @ 107.50, SR: 164.12, 2 fifties, 2 hundreds, HS: 106*

Usman became the first batter to score two hundreds in a PSL season this year, and he scored them back to back in one of the hottest streaks of T20 batting of all time. He finished as the second-highest run-scorer of the season.

Rassie van der Dussen – Lahore Qalandars

364 runs @ 72.80, SR: 154.89, 3 fifties, 1 hundred, HS: 104*

From just seven games, van der Dussen scored more than 350 runs. He went into double figures every time he came out to bat and failed to go past 25 only once.

Shadab Khan – Islamabad United

305 runs @ 30.50, SR: 142.52, 3 fifties, HS: 80
14 wickets @ 26.85, ER: 8.54, BBI: 3-32

With more than 300 runs with the bat and 14 wickets with the ball, Shadab led his team from the front. He was named the Player of the Tournament for his all-round showing.

Iftikhar Ahmed – Multan Sultans

259 runs @ 64.75, SR: 193.28, 1 fifty, HS: 60*
2 wickets @ 60.50, ER: 9.30, BBI: 2-19

Ifti Mania was on full display in PSL 2024. Playing as a finisher, Iftikhar had a fruitful last few games where he played knocks of 60 (27), 20 (8), 22 (8), and 32 (20). In the final, he also chipped in with two crucial wickets and bowled an economical spell of 2-19 from three overs.

Imad Wasim – Islamabad United

126 runs @ 21, SR: 128.57, 1 fifty, HS: 59*
12 wickets @ 20.91, ER: 6.60, BBI: 5-23

Having not had a great start to the season, Imad Wasim turned it around and how. He almost single-handedly took Islamabad through to the trophy, putting up Player of the Match performances in each of the three playoff games.

David Willey – Multan Sultans

38 runs @ 12.67, SR: 115.2, HS: 25
15 wickets @ 20.40, ER: 7.46, BBI: 3-22

Willey went wicketless in only two of the 11 games he played. Among fast bowlers, only Mohammad Ali took more wickets than him in PSL 2024.

Usama Mir – Multan Sultans

18 runs @ 9, SR: 360, HS: 12
24 wickets @ 15.87, ER: 8.13, BBI: 6-40

The highest wicket-taker of the season, Mir’s bowling average of 15.87 was by far the best in the tournament. He took a wicket every two overs, quicker than anyone else.

Naseem Shah – Islamabad United

62 runs @ 20.67, SR: 163.2, HS: 27
15 wickets @ 22.20, ER: 7.56, BBI: 3-30

Naseem was the highest wicket-taker for Islamabad United. The only game he went wicketless in was the final, but he conceded only 25 in his four-over spell. He also played a couple of handy cameos with the bat, the most important of which was a nine-ball 17 in the final.

Mohammad Ali – Multan Sultans

19 wickets @ 18.63, ER: 8.23, BBI: 3-19

Ali’s start to PSL 2024 was phenomenal, as he picked up 13 wickets in the first five games, eventually finishing as the highest wicket-taker of the season among fast bowlers.

Team of the Tournament

Babar Azam
Saim Ayub
Usman Khan (wk)
Rassie van der Dussen
Shadab Khan (c)
Iftikhar Ahmed
Imad Wasim
David Willey
Usama Mir
Naseem Shah
Mohammad Ali