Squads for the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup are steadily being announced in the lead up to the 50-over event. Follow the live updates of the squad announcements of each of the ten participating teams in the World Cup here.

To bet on the World Cup with our Match Centre Partners bet365 head here.

The 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup starts on October 5. ICC’s regulations for the tournament state that teams need to announce their preliminary squads one month in advance, that is, by September 5. The squads need to be finalised by September 28.

While some teams have announced their squads weeks before the deadline, some are yet to do so. Follow the preliminary squad announcement status of each of the ten teams here.

World Cup 2023 squad announcements – Today’s live updates

England squad

England announced their final squad on September 17, replacing Jason Roy who was in the preliminary squad with Harry Brook, who was originally left out. They have also confirmed Jofra Archer as their only travelling reserve.

Here’s the full England squad.

England squad: Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Gus Atkinson, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Harry Brook, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Mark Wood, Chris Woakes. Reserve: Jofra Archer

Afghanistan squad

Afghanistan announced their World Cup squad on September 13. Fast bowler Naveen-ul-Haq has been recalled and all-rounder Azmatullah Omarzai has recovered from injury to be back in the squad.

Gulbadin Naib, meanwhile, missed out and has been named as a reserve player instead.

Here is the full Afghanistan squad.

Netherlands squad

The Netherlands have named an experienced provisional squad for the World Cup. Veteran left-arm spinner Roelof van der Merwe has been recalled, and so has Colin Ackermann, both of whom weren’t available during their brilliant run in the World Cup Qualifier earlier this year.

Here is the full Netherlands squad.

New Zealand squad

New Zealand announced their squad with a heartwarming video featuring players’ families. 

In a major breakthrough for New Zealand, star batter Kane Williamson was named in the World Cup squad as his recovery from the knee injury he sustained during IPL 2023 has gone better than expected.

Update: Tim Southee suffered a dislocated and fractured thumb and will undergo surgery. A call will be taken on his World Cup participation soon.

Here’s the full NZ squad.

India squad for 2023 World Cup

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya (Vice-captain), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav

Follow all the live updates of India’s squad announcement here:


South Africa squad

Temba Bavuma (c), Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Sisanda Magala, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen.


Australia name two rookies, leave out Labuschagne

Australia became the first team to announce their preliminary squad for the 2023 World Cup when they named an 18-member squad on August 7. They have left Test No.3 Marnus Labuschagne out due to an extended period of poor returns, while two uncapped youngsters Aaron Hardie and Tanveer Sangha have been included.

Australia squad: Pat Cummins (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey (wk), Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis (wk), Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Pakistan squad

To be announced.

Bangladesh squad

To be announced.

Sri Lanka squad

To be announced.