Oman have announced their 15-member squad for the 2024 T20 World Cup, with Aqib Ilyas leading the side. Here is the Oman squad for the 2024 T20 World Cup.

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Aqib Ilyas has been appointed as Oman’s captain for the global event. He has replaced Zeeshan Maqsood, who had led his team since the 2016 T20 World Cup. Opener Jatinder Singh and wrist-spinner Samay Shrivastav are included as travelling reserves alongside Jay Odedra and Sufiyan Mehmood.

The squad is largely the same as the one that took part in the final of the recently held ACC Premier Cup, with eight members making it from the outfit of the 2021 edition when Oman co-hosted the T20 World Cup with the UAE.

Left-arm pacer Bilal Khan will lead Oman’s fast-bowling arsenal with support from the likes of Kaleemullah and Fayyaz Butt. Meanwhile, their spin threat comprises Zeeshan, Ilyas and relatively newcomer Shakeel Ahmed.

Kashyap Prajapati and Naseem Khushi are likely to be the openers, with Ilyas coming one down and Zeeshan at No.4. Pratik Athavale will be the preferred wicketkeeper.

Oman are placed in Group B alongside Australia, England, Scotland and Namibia. They will pit against Namibia in their tournament opener on June 2 at the Kensington Oval in Barbados.

Oman squad for 2024 T20 World Cup: Full team list


Zeeshan Maqsood, Kashyap Prajapati, Shoaib Khan, Mehran Khan, Khalid Kail, Jatinder Singh (Travelling Reserve)


Pratik Athavale,  Naseem Khushi


Aqib Ilyas (c), Ayaan Khan, Mohammad Nadeem, Rafiullah, Jay Odedra (Travelling Reserve)


Bilal Khan, Kaleemullah, Fayyaz Butt, Shakeel Ahmed, Samay Shrivastava (Travelling Reserve), Sufyan Mehmood (Travelling Reserve)