India’s unbeaten streak in T20I series, stretching back 12 rubbers and two years, has been snapped in style by West Indies, who inflicted a hefty eight-wicket defeat to seal a 3-2 win.

India came into the decider with the momentum behind them, having staged a comeback from 2-0 down. West Indies had won two close contests, by four runs and two wickets, before India completed two comfortable chases, by seven wickets with 13 balls to spare, and nine wickets with 18 balls to spare.

The latter included a mammoth stand between Yashasvi Jaiswal and Shubman Gill, who added 165 for the first wicket. However, each fell early the following day, with Akeal Hosein seeing both off. Suryakumar Yadav rebuilt with his slowest T20I half-century, but while each of India’s middle-order options made it to double figures, India were unable to put up an imposing total. Romario Shepherd cashed in at the back end, taking 4-31.

Arshdeep Singh, at No.8, hit a memorable six, but India’s 165-9 looked under par, and so it proved. While Kyle Mayers was dismissed early by Arshdeep, he had already given West Indies a fast start with a five-ball 10. Brandon King and Nicholas Pooran then put the result almost beyond all doubt with a century second-wicket stand, though the arrival of rain threatened to dampen West Indies’ victory march. It relented, and West Indies confirmed a famous win on the field, rather than in the dressing room.

There was one hiccup, Pooran falling to Tilak Varma’s second ball in international cricket after surviving a stumping appeal off his first, but a brisk cameo from Shai Hope eased any nerves.

[breakout id=”0″][/breakout]

While India are missing some key players, either rested or through injury, their side is still a strong one, and they have managed to maintain a proud bilaterals record even while rarely having a fully first-choice side. They had won 11 series out of 12 before this one, with the other a 2-2 draw against South Africa. This included triumphs over both England and Australia, who have each won the T20 World Cup during India’s run.

India’s last series defeat came against Sri Lanka in 2021, though their dominant form stretches back further – this is just their fourth series defeat in 32 in the last six years. However, that has not translated to global success, with India falling to win either World Cup or the Asia Cup in that time.

The result will be celebrated in West Indies, who endured a galling World Cup campaign, eliminated in the first round, a sharp decline given they had been champions at two of the previous four events.