Deepak Chahar ran out Innocent Kaia at the non-striker’s end but did not appeal during third ODI between Zimbabwe and India Monday.

Zimbabwe, set a target of 290 to win the third match of the series, could have lost a wicket before the very first ball of the innings, had Chahar gone up in appeal for a run out at the non-striker’s end. Chahar ran in to bowl at striker Takudzwanashe Kaitano, but stopped midway through his run-up as he saw non-striker Kaia meandering out of the popping crease.

Chahar slowed down and whipped off the bails in a flash, but neither him nor India went up in appeal. As a result, the umpire signalled a dead-ball, and Chahar had to bowl the first delivery of the innings again.

Recently, the MCC normalised the Mankad Law, which was earlier under the ‘Unfair Play’ section. In March this year, the rule was shifted to the ‘Run Out’ section, as the MCC aimed to normalise the mode of dismissal, that has always been within the Laws of cricket but has somehow stirred up controversies at every instance.

There have been several incidents when a bowler has sent back a batter after Mankading them, the most famous of the previous decade coming in a 2019 IPL clash between Kings XI Punjab and Rajasthan Royals when R Ashwin ran out Jos Buttler at the non-striker’s end.

Chahar’s act had plenty of reactions:

Watch the incident here: