The 2023 Indian Premier League is set to get underway later this month, with players from all around the world gearing up for the annual competition – here is the full IPL 2023 injury list, including players confirmed to be sitting out this year’s tournament.

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Several players have already been ruled out of the league, which begins on March 31 with reigning champions Gujarat Titans taking on Chennai Super Kings.

The Punjab Kings confirmed that this year’s IPL would be too soon for Jonny Bairstow to return and will be replaced by Matt Short, who starred for the Adelaide Strikers in the Big Bash. Bairstow underwent surgery after suffering multiple fractures to his fibula following a freak golfing accident in September, missed England’s victorious T20 World Cup campaign, and is yet to play cricket since then. While the ECB’s timeline previously suggested he might be fit for the IPL, it remains to be seen whether his recovery will allow him to do so.

Bairstow is yet another player confirmed to be unavailable this week, following the news that Jhye Richardson, who has undergone surgery in an attempt to combat his ongoing hamstring issues, has been ruled out. The fast-bowler had been due to join Mumbai Indians for the first time, he previously represented Punjab Kings in 2021. Mumbai bought Richardson for INR 1.5 crore.

Jasprit Bumrah has also been ruled out of the league as he continues to recover from an ongoing back injury. He underwent surgery in New Zealand in early March and is hopeful to return to professional cricket in time for India’s home World Cup challenge later this year. He is another of Mumbai Indians’ fast-bowling contingent they will be without.

Others set to miss the tournament include Prasidh Krishna, Rishabh Pant and Kyle Jamieson. There was good news for Liam Livingstone who looks set to return from an injury he picked up making his test debut in November 2023. While Anrich Nortje and David Warner have eased concerns surrounding their fitness, having both returned to international duty this week.

List of players who will miss the 2023 Indian Premier League due to injury

Out for the entire IPL season

Jasprit Bumrah (Replaced by Sandeep Warrier at MI)
Rishabh Pant (Replaced by Abhishek Porel at DC)
Kyle Jamieson (replaced by Sisanda Magala at CSK)
Jhye Richardson (replaced by Riley Meredith at MI)
Prasidh Krishna (Replaced by Sandeep Sharma at RR)
Will Jacks (replaced by Michael Bracewell at RCB)
Jonny Bairstow (replaced by Matt Short at PBKS)
Kane Williamson (replaced by Dasun Shanaka at GT)
Rajat Patidar (replaced by Vijaykumar Vyshak at RCB)
Mukesh Choudhary (replaced by Akash Singh at CSK)
Shakib Al Hasan (opted out – replaced by Jason Roy at KKR)
Reece Topley (replaced by Wayne Parnell at RCB)
Raj Angad Bawa (replaced by Gurnoor Singh Brar at PBKS)
Shreyas Iyer (replaced by Aarya Desai at KKR)
Kamlesh Nagarkoti (DC)

Out/could be out for at least part of the season

Mohsin Khan (LSG)
Josh Hazlewood (RCB, expected to be available soon)
Deepak Chahar (CSK)
Sisanda Magala (CSK, out for two weeks)
Ben Stokes (CSK, expected to be available soon)
Simarjeet Singh (CSK, recovering)
MS Dhoni (CSK, extent of injury yet to be ascertained)
Shikhar Dhawan (PBKS, could be out for some more games)