The Orange Cap is awarded to the highest run-getter at the end of each IPL season – below is the updated list highlighting the top five run-scorers in the 2023 edition so far.

Gujarat Titans are favourites to retain their IPL title with our Match Centre partners bet365. To bet on the outright market of the competition head here.

The Orange Cap is part of a set of tournament honours – alongside others such as Purple Cap, Maximum Sixes, Most Valuable Player – that are awarded at the end of the tournament. A symbolic, actual orange-coloured cap is passed on through the season to whoever is leading the run list, changing hands after each game.

Every year barring 2009 and 2015, the highest run-getter has scored over 600 runs in a single edition. The highest belongs to Virat Kohli, who comfortably won the Orange Cap in 2016 after a season that saw him garner 973 runs. Last year, Jos Buttler made his way to the all-time second spot, cracking 863 runs for Rajasthan Royals.

Here’s the full list of players who have won the Orange Cap (2008 to 2022):

The award has been won by an overseas player ten times, with Chris Gayle (2) and David Warner (3) the only batters to top the charts more than once.

2008 – Shaun Marsh, KXIP
2009 – Matthew Hayden, CSK
2010  – Sachin Tendulkar, MI
2011 – Chris Gayle, RCB
2012 – Chris Gayle, RCB
2013  –Mike Hussey, CSK
2014 – Robin Uthappa, KKR
2015 – David Warner, SRH
2016 – Virat Kohli, RCB
2017  – David Warner, SRH
2018 – Kane Williamson, SRH
2019 – David Warner, SRH
2020 – KL Rahul, PBKS
2021 – Ruturaj Gaikwad, CSK
2022 – Jos Buttler, RR

IPL 2023: Orange Cap leaders

  1. Shubman Gill (GT) – 890 runs
  2. Faf du Plessis (RCB) – 730 runs
  3. Devon Conway (CSK) – 672 runs
  4. Virat Kohli (RCB) – 639 runs
  5. Yashasvi Jaiswal (RR) – 625 runs