Bangladesh will play Sri Lanka in a Test series at home from March 22, 2024: here are the BAN vs SL Test squads including injury updates and replacement updates.

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Bangladesh have named a strong 15-member squad led by Najmul Hossain Shanto for the first Test. The series will be Shanto’s first assignment with the Test side after taking over as a full-time captain. Wicketkeeper-batter Litton Das will make a comeback after missing the series against New Zealand due to paternity leave. Uncapped pacers Nahid Rana and Musfik Hasan have earned their maiden call-ups. Senior fast-bowler Ebadot Hossain hasn’t returned from the knee injury last year which forced him to miss the 2023 ODI World Cup.

Rahim to miss Test series

Mushfiqur Rahim was ruled out of the Test series due to a thumb injury which he sustained during the third ODI.

For Sri Lanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, named Test captain in February, will lead the tourists. Meanwhile, Wanindu Hasaranga has been named in the squad, confirming the leg-spinning all-rounder’s retirement u-turn in the format. Hasaranga called time on his Test career in August 2023 for prioritising white-ball cricket but reversed his decision to be a part of a strong spin arsenal comprising Prabath Jayasuriya, Ramesh Mendis and all-rounders Nishan Peiris and Kamindu Mendis.

BAN vs SL Test squads: Team lists for Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka Test series

Bangladesh (for 1st Test)

Najmul Hossain Shanto (c), Zakir Hasan, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Shadman Islam, Litton Kumer Das, Mominul Haque Showrab, Shahadat Hossain Dipu, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nayeem Hasan, Taijul Islam, Shoriful Islam, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Musfik Hasan, Nahid Rana

Sri Lanka

Dhananjaya De Silva (c), Kusal Mendis, Dimuth Karunaratne, Nishan Madushka, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Kamindu Mendis, Lahiru Udara, Wanindu Hasaranga, Prabath Jayasuriya, Ramesh Mendis, Nishan Peiris, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando, Lahiru Kumara, Chamika Gunasekara