Sunrisers Hyderabad chased down a target of 166 in 9.4 overs against Lucknow Super Giants in the IPL 2024 match at Hyderabad today (May 8). Here’s a look at all the records they broke in the process.

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

In an unprecedented display of hitting, SRH openers Travis Head and Abhishek Sharma inflicted a record defeat on LSG at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad.

SRH became the first team in the history of T20 cricket to chase down a target of more than 150 inside ten overs. Also, their innings run rate of 17.27 is now the highest ever in a T20 innings where more than 150 runs have been scored.

A game of two powerplays

Batting first, LSG put up a mere 165-4 on the board after the powerplay brought them just 27 runs for two wickets.

In response, SRH scored 107-0 inside the first six overs, a whole 80 runs more than LSG. To put it into perspective, the difference between the powerplay scores of both the teams was higher than the best powerplay score LSG has got this season – 57-2 vs DC.

In fact, LSG’s powerplay total of 27 was their lowest ever inside the first six overs in their IPL history, while that of SRH was the second-highest ever in IPL across teams.

Boundaries galore

Lucknow batters combined to hit 16 fours and four sixes in their entire 20 overs. On the other hand, Travis Head and Abhishek Sharma hit 13 fours and eight sixes inside the first six overs itself.

21 of the 36 legal deliveries that the SRH batters faced in the powerplay went for boundaries, that is a boundary every 1.71 balls. The tally of 21 boundaries in the first six overs was also the second most in IPL history.

Overall, SRH scored 30 boundaries in 58 deliveries.

Head and Abhishek continue the carnage

Head finished uneaten on 89 off 30 balls at a strike rate of 296. No one has scored more runs at a better strike rate in a run-chase in IPL history. His season tally now stands at 533 runs at a strike rate of 201.89. Again, no other batter has scored more runs at a higher strike rate in any IPL season.

Abhishek scored 75 off 28 balls at a strike rate of 267. Among Indians, it was the third-quickest knock of 75-plus while chasing in an IPL game after Suresh Raina’s 87 off 25 in the IPL 2014 playoffs and Yusuf Pathan’s 100 off 37 in IPL 2010.

Abhishek’s season numbers now read 401 runs at a strike rate of 205.64. That is the second-highest strike rate in an IPL season for any batter with a 300-run cut off after Jake Fraser-McGurk’s 309 runs at 235.87. With a 400-run cut off, Abhishek’s is the highest strike rate any batter has managed in an IPL season ever.

The partnership run rate of 17.27 between Head and Abhishek was also the second quickest ever in IPL history among century opening partnerships. In run-chases, it was the quickest century opening partnership recorded in IPL history.