Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match awards, player interviews, analysis and much more.

The IPL 2022 is set to be held in the first half of the year, with the auction likely to be in February – follow this space for live updates of the tournament, including the auction, player news, and updates on the two new franchises in Lucknow and Ahmedabad.

The 15th edition of the tournament is likely to take place in India, but with rising Covid-19 cases, the BCCI is considering a single host centre, with an overseas venue being a secondary option.

IPL 2022: Auction date and time

The auction was initially announced to be held in Bengaluru on February 12 and 13, but rising Covid-19 cases could force it to be moved by a few weeks.

IPL 2022: News and live updates

Lucknow have been officially named Lucknow Super Giants.

Two new teams – Ahmedabad and Lucknow – are set to make their debut in IPL 2022.

For Lucknow, the following announcements have been made:

Mentor: Gautam Gambhir
Head coach: Andy Flower
Assistant coach: Vijay Dahiya

Lucknow have reportedly picked KL Rahul, Ravi Bishnoi and Marcus Stoinis as three players for the 2022 edition.

According to reports, Ahmedabad have made Ashish Nehra their coach, with the mentor being Gary Kirsten.

Mitchell Starc has expressed his interest in playing the IPL after not being involved since the 2015 season. Meanwhile, Joe Root and Ben Stokes have opted out.

The two new franchises  – Ahmedabad and Lucknow – have been given a deadline till January 22, 5pm to pick three players ahead of the main auction.

IPL 2022: List of retained players

IPL 2022 retentions: Follow this link for live updates from the retention day in December 2021.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)
Ravindra Jadeja
MS Dhoni
Moeen Ali
Ruturaj Gaikwad

Purse remaining: INR 48 Cr

Delhi Capitals (DC)
Rishabh Pant
Axar Patel
Prithvi Shaw
Anrich Nortje

Purse remaining: INR 47.5 Cr

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)
Andre Russell
Varun CV
Ventakesh Iyer
Sunil Narine

Purse remaining: 48 Cr

Mumbai Indians (MI)
Rohit Sharma
Jasprit Bumrah
Suryakumar Yadav
Kieron Pollard

Purse remaining: 48 Cr

Punjab Kings (PBKS)
Mayank Agarwal
Arshdeep Singh

Purse remaining: 72 Cr

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)
Kane Williamson
Abdul Samad
Umran Malik
Purse remaining: 68 Cr

Rajasthan Royals (RR)
Sanju Samson
Jos Buttler
Yashasvi Jaiswal

Purse remaining: 62 Cr

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)
Virat Kohli
Glenn Maxwell
Mohammed Siraj

Purse remaining: 57 Cr