
South Africa’s David Bedingham had a nervy moment just before lunch on the second day of the World Test Championship final, scrambling to remove a ball from between his pad and leg as wicketkeeper Alex Carey ran through to attempt a catch.
Australia’s appeals were muted, but several laws could have come into play.
What happened?
Facing up to the third ball of the 49th over, bowled by Beau Webster, Bedingham went back in defence but only succeeded in inside-edging the ball into his thighs. The ball then dropped between his pad and leg, bobbling as Carey ran through from behind the stumps. Bending his knee, Bedingham then dislodged the ball with his hand, throwing it to the ground before Carey could attempt a catch. Usman Khawaja and Steve Smith appeared to appeal, but the umpires and Australia captain Pat Cummins took little interest.
What the laws say?
If the ball wasn’t dead at the moment that Bedingham handled the ball, then Australia might have had a case.
While there is no longer a specific ‘handled the ball’ law, law 37 deals with when a batter can be out obstructing the field, with clause 37.3 specifically concerning preventing a catching attempt. “The striker is out obstructing the field if wilful obstruction or distraction by either batter prevents the striker being out caught,” it reads.
Clause 37.4 goes further: “Either batter is out obstructing the field if, at any time while the ball is in play and, without the consent of a fielder, he/she uses the bat or any part of his/her person to return the ball to any fielder.”
So was the ball in play?
Law 20 deals with when a ball is dead, and deals with this kind of situation. It states that the ball is dead if it becomes “trapped” or “lodged” in a batter’s clothing or equipment. There was some debate online over whether the ball was indeed trapped or lodged. It is hard to pinpoint a moment when the ball was at a complete standstill - though the law does not specify that this must be the case - and by his panicked reaction, it appears Bedingham felt he was in danger of being caught out, and so did not think the ball dead. However, it is the umpire’s interpretation that matters here, not the players’, and clearly they deemed the ball lodged or trapped, and therefore dead.
With three balls left before the interval, Bedingham cashed in, striking two boundaries as South Africa took lunch at 121-5, and still just about alive in the World Test Championship final.
Follow Wisden for all cricket updates, including live scores, match stats, quizzes and more. Stay up to date with the latest cricket news, player updates, team standings, match highlights, video analysis and live match odds.