The 2022 LPL is set to begin – here is a list of all the captains who are leading their respective teams this month’s Lanka Premier League.

Of the five captains, all have extensive international experience with Sri Lanka including Dasun Shanaka who is the current T20I captain for the nation.

Below are the details for all five of the captains on show in the 2022 Lanka Premier League.

Lanka Premier League Captains

Colombo Stars – Angelo Mathews

A Sri Lankan legend, Mathews has captained Sri Lanka in all three formats and was a key member of their 2014 T20 World Cup winning side. He has been the permanent captain of Colombo Stars since the first edition of the LPL in 2020.

Dambulla Giants – Dasun Shanaka

Shanaka is the current captain of Sri Lanka’s white-ball sides and led his nation in the recent T20 World Cup. He will be hoping to lead the Giants to their first LPL title this season.

Galle Gladiators – Kusal Mendis

Mendis has led the Gladiators since the first LPL in 2020. His team have finished as runners-up in both 2020 and 2021 and will be hoping to go one better this year.

Jaffna Kings – Thisara Perera

Thisara is the only captain to have lifted the LPL trophy having won the competition with the Jaffna Stallions in 2020 and the renamed Jaffna Kings in 2021.

Kandy Falcons – Wanindu Hasaranga

Hasaranga will be the Falcons third captain in as many years as he follows in the footsteps of Kusal Perera in 2020 and Angelo Perera in 2021. He will be hoping to improve the fortunes of the Falcons, who have won just four matches across two years.