Afghanistan will tour Sri Lanka for a three-match ODI series starting on June 2 — here’s the full squad, team list and players for the SL vs AF ODI 2023.

Sri Lanka will host Afghanistan for a 50-over series for the second time, after November 2022. The previous series between the two nations had ended 1-1, with the second game getting washed out due to rain. Afghanistan began the tour on a high, winning the first ODI by 60 runs: opener Ibrahim Zadran made 106, and the bowlers shot out Sri Lanka for 234. Sri Lanka have beaten Afghanistan four times and lost twice.

The 2023 series will begin on June 2. Three ODIs are being played over the course of the next five days, all at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium in Hambantota. The ground will be hosting its first-ever men’s international game since February 2020.

Afghanistan have already announced their squad. They will be led by Hashmatullah Shahidi, and have given a maiden call-up to all-rounder Abdul Rahman, rewarding him for an impressive showing in the Green Afghanistan One-Day Cup. The right-arm medium-fast bowler represented Hindukush Strikers in the event and picked up seven wickets along with making two fifties.

Read Also: Sri Lanka v Afghanistan ODI schedule

The 15-member squad also features a strong spin attack, led by Rashid Khan, who is currently playing in the IPL 2023 for the Gujarat Titans; Noor Ahmad, Rashid’s Gujarat teammate; and Mohammad Nabi and Mujeeb Ur Rahman.

While Afghanistan have directly qualified for the 50-over World Cup to be held in India later this year, Sri Lanka will have to play the Qualifiers.

Sri Lanka are yet to announce their squad.

SL vs AF 2023: ODI squad and team list


Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Rahmat Shah (vc), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Ikram Alikhil (wk), Ibrahim Zadran, Riaz Hassan, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Azmatullah Omarzai, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Noor Ahmad, Abdul Rahman, Fazal Haq Farooqi and Farid Ahmad Malik.

Reserves: Gulbadain Naib, Shahidullah Kamal, Yamin Ahmadzai, and Zia ur Rahman Akbar

Sri Lanka:

Dasun Shanaka (c), Kusal Mendis (wk & vc), Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Angelo Mathews, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya De Silva, Sadeera Samarawickrama (wk), Chamika Karunaratne, Dushan Hemantha, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lahiru Kumara, Dushmantha Chameera, Kasun Rajitha, Matheesha Pathirana, Maheesh Theekshana