The Indian Premier League (IPL) has seen several memorable centuries over the year, beginning with its inaugural game in 2008, when Brendon McCullum smashed 158.

Eight centuries came in the 2022 season – the most in a single IPL season, a record that was broken in 2023 (10 tons). The trend is clear. Batting has evolved into a 360-degree boundary scoring run-fest and the T20 game has become more and more geared towards batters.

Virat Kohli leads the list with eight centuries. Obviously, the quicker the centuries are scored, the better it is for the team. The fastest century in the league’s history was scored in 30 balls, by Chris Gayle, and the slowest in 67, jointly by Manish Pandey and Kohli.

Fastest centuries in the Indian Premier League (IPL):

Chris Gayle: 30 balls, Royal Challengers Bangalore v Pune Warriors, IPL 2013

Is it really a surprise to see Chris Gayle‘s name up top in the list of fastest IPL centuries? Gayle took apart the Pune Warriors bowlers one fine April afternoon in 2013 and set a record that has not been broken 10 years down the line. In fact, such is the absurdity of that knock that the next fastest century in IPL history is a full seven deliveries slower. He finished with a mammoth 175* off 66 balls, having struck 13 fours and 17 sixes – which translates to 154 runs in boundaries alone.

Yusuf Pathan: 37 balls, Rajasthan Royals v Mumbai Indians, IPL 2010

The second fastest IPL century belongs to Yusuf Pathan, who almost single-handedly pulled off a 200+ run chase against the Mumbai Indians in 2010. Coming in at 40-3 after 6.1 overs, Pathan hit 8 sixes and 9 fours and was run out with Rajasthan needing 40 runs off the last three overs. They ended up losing the match by a mere four runs.

David Miller: 38 balls, Kings XI Punjab v Royal Challengers Bangalore, IPL 2013

David Miller is third on the list with a 38-ball century against the Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2013. This knock announced the arrival of Killer Miller. He came in to bat with Kings XI Punjab needing 140 runs in 12.2 overs. Such was his dominance that night that they finished off the chase with two overs remaining.

Travis Head: 39 balls, Sunrisers Hyderabad v Royal Challengers Bengaluru, IPL 2024

SRH opener Travis Head smashed the fourth-fastest century in IPL history and the quickest in 11 years, on his way to a blistering ton that headlined the highest total in IPL. He finished on 102 off 41, needing 20 balls for his first fifty, and 19 for his second.

Adam Gilchrist: 42 balls, Deccan Chargers v Mumbai Indians, IPL 2008

Adam Gilchrist comes fourth on the list with a 42-ball century in the inaugural season of the Indian Premier League. Chasing a modest target of 155 against the Mumbai Indians, Gilchrist put on an exhibition, scoring 109 of those runs on his own. The Deccan Chargers won the match by 10 wickets and his opening partner VVS Laxman remained not out at 37 off 26 balls.

AB de Villiers: 43 balls, Royal Challengers Bangalore v Gujarat Lions, IPL 2016

How can AB de Villiers not be on a list of fastest IPL centuries? In the 2016 league game against Gujarat Lions, De Villiers came together with Virat Kohli and struck 129 not out off 52 balls. Kohli also scored a hundred and RCB ended up with 248-3, eventually winning by 144 runs.

David Warner: 43 balls, Sunrisers Hyderabad v Kolkata Knight Riders, IPL 2017

David Warner has been one of the most consistent batters in IPL history and it is only fair that his name shows up in the list of fastest IPL centurions. In a 2017 clash against Kolkata Knight Riders, Warner smashed 126 off 59 balls while batting first. He hit ten fours and eight sixes and led his team to 209-3, which turned out to be more than enough in the end as KKR finished 48 runs short of their target.

Sanath Jayasuriya: 45 balls, Mumbai Indians v Chennai Super Kings, IPL 2008

In one of the wildest knocks in IPL history, Sanath Jayasuriya blasted 114 runs off 58 balls against the Chennai Super Kings in a chase of 157 in the inaugural season of IPL. Mumbai won the game with more than six overs to spare and guess who the next highest individual scorer was… Extras, with 16 runs, same as Robin Uthappa.

Mayank Agarwal: 45 balls, Kings XI Punjab v Rajasthan Royals, IPL 2020

Mayank Agarwal features at number eight in the list with his 45-ball century in IPL 2020 against Rajasthan Royals in Sharjah. Batting first, Mayank made good use of the fresh pitch and small boundaries and took apart the Rajasthan bowlers. KXIP finished with 223-2 and yet it wasn’t enough. Rajasthan chased it down with three balls to spare.

Murali Vijay: 46 balls, Chennai Super Kings v Rajasthan Royals, IPL 2010

Murali Vijay put on a masterclass on a hot, sunny afternoon in Chennai in IPL 2010. Batting first, he smashed 127 off just 56 balls, hitting as many as 11 sixes and eight fours in the process. Chennai ended up with a mammoth 246-5. Rajasthan responded well with the bat, but the target was too steep, and they fell 23 runs short in the end.

Chris Gayle: 46 balls, Royal Challengers Bangalore v Kings XI Punjab, IPL 2011

Topping and tailing this list, 2011 was the breakthrough season for Chris Gayle in the IPL. After having gone unsold in the auction, he was brought in as a replacement player midway through the season by RCB and what followed is well known. He scored two centuries, one of them being a 49-ball 107 against Kings XI Punjab. RCB scored 205-6 and won the match comfortably by 85 runs.

Gujarat Titans are favourites to retain their IPL title with our Match Centre partners bet365. To bet on the outright market of the competition head here.