UAE secured a sizeable, historic victory over New Zealand in the second T20I between the sides, chasing down 143 in 15.4 overs for the loss of three wickets. The result marks UAE’s first win over the Blackcaps in any format.

After pushing New Zealand close in the first T20I, falling short of their target by 19 runs, UAE made amends in the second game of the three-match series. Captain Muhammad Waseem led the charge with the bat, smashing a rampant 55 off 29 deliveries. He got able support from middle-order batter Asif Khan, who finished with a rapid 48 off 29 deliveries, with five fours and a six under his belt.

Earlier, teenage sensation Aayan Afzal Khan put the breaks on the Kiwis’ scoreboard, restricting them to a first-innings score of 142-8. Khan bagged his career-best figures of 3-20 in four overs. The left-arm spinner knocked over Mitchell Santner in the fourth over with a ball that turned significantly, before also bowling Dane Cleaver with his very next ball. In the seventh over, the 17-year-old bluffed Chad Rowes, getting him stumped. He was adjudged the ‘Player of the Match’ for his stellar effort.

Mark Chapman top-scored for the touring team, racking up a 46 ball 63, hitting three fours and as many sixes. His effort enabled New Zealand to recover from 65-5, and on a turning surface, the target looked a challenging one. Instead, UAE made mincemeat of the proposition.

The triumph is historic for a number of reasons. It marks the first time an Associate team has defeated New Zealand in international cricket. Now all 12 Full Members of the ICC have lost at least once against an Associate nation. The Blackcaps are also UAE’s most significant scalp. Before today, the only Full Members they had beaten were Afghanistan, Ireland and Zimbabwe.

New Zealand’s side is weakened by several absentees playing in T20 competitions around the world, but the XI they fielded was still stocked with plenty of international experience.

The three-match T20I series is levelled 1-1, with the decider to be played on August 20.