
England opener Tammy Beaumont survived an appeal for obstructing the field in the second ODI against India at Lord’s, appearing to kick out at the ball having made her ground.
The incident occurred in the fifth over of England’s chase, the hosts well placed to level the series after restricting India to 143-8 in 29 overs in a rain-shortened clash. Deepti Sharma bowled to Beaumont, who played the ball into the leg-side and wandered out of her crease, regaining her ground as the throw came in. She made no contact with the ball, but wicketkeeper Richa Ghosh appealed, suggesting Beaumont had interfered with her attempt to gather the ball.
The decision was sent upstairs, and replays suggested Beaumont had kicked out her right leg towards the ball slightly, having got back into her crease with her left. “I’ve got a bad feeling on this one,” said former England international Alex Hartley on BBC Test Match Special.
TV umpire Jacqueline Wilson, however, decided that Beaumont was not out and the game continued. “She won’t do that again,” said Hartley.
What do the Laws of Cricket say?
There was some speculation that Beaumont was reprieved because she had regained her ground, but that should have no bearing on the decision. Law 37 states that: “Either batter is out obstructing the field if, except in the circumstances of 37.2, and while the ball is in play, he/she wilfully attempts to obstruct or distract the fielding side by word or action.”
Clause 37.2 only offers a get-out option if the batter is avoiding injury or guarding their wicket, neither of which was the case in this instance. Clause 37.4 then adds an example which makes clear an instance when a batter can be out even if in their ground: “Either batter is out obstructing the field if, at any time while the ball is in play and, without the consent of a fielder, he/she uses the bat or any part of his/her person to return the ball to any fielder.”
Clause 37.1.4, in the ICC playing conditions but not the laws, adds, “It shall not be relevant whether a run out would have occurred or not.”
So Wilson’s decision should only have concerned whether Beaumont’s actions amounted to a wilful attempt to obstruct or distract, and she was content that they didn’t.
More England-India controversy at Lord’s
The recent men’s Test match at Lord’s was a feisty affair, both sides exchanging sledges throughout the game. But even that paled in comparison to the last England-India women’s ODI at Lord’s. Then, Deepti Sharma’s ‘Mankad’ dismissal of Charlie Dean, which won the game for the tourists, sparked a furore, with the debate over who had warned whom about what spilling over for days afterwards. In that instance, there was at least no controversy over the legality of Dean’s dismissal, merely over whether it was in the spirit of the game.
Follow Wisden for all cricket updates, including live scores, match stats, quizzes and more. Stay up to date with the latest cricket news, player updates, team standings, match highlights, video analysis and live match odds.