India have announced a 15-member squad for the 2024 T20 World Cup, led by Rohit Sharma.

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

The 15-member provisional squad has ample experience, and is headlined by the return of Shivam Dube and Yuzvendra Chahal. Four additional members have been named as standby players.

T20 World Cup 2024: Find updated lists of all squads announced here.

India squad for 2024 T20 World Cup


Rohit Sharma (c), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav


Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson


Hardik Pandya, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel


Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj


Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, Avesh Khan

Chahal makes a return, Rinku in reserves

Leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal made his way back into the India team after fine outings in IPL 2024, where he has taken 13 wickets at 23 at the time of writing. Rinku Singh did not make the cut to the main squad, and is in reserves, along with Shubman Gill and fast bowlers Avesh Khan and Khaleel Ahmed. KL Rahul did not make it to this list of 19.

One of the hotly debated questions regarding India’s squad for the 2024 T20 World Cup was of Virat Kohli‘s. While he has the most runs in the tournament – 1,141 at 81.50 and 131, including 14 fifties – a school of thought argues that he doesn’t score quickly enough and India should look away from him in the format. However, the BCCI have ended the speculations by naming Kohli in India’s team for the 2024 T20 World Cup.

Samson returns

Apart from Kohli, the squad also features plenty of experience in vice-captain Pandya, Suryakumar, and Bumrah, who is expected to play a huge role in leading India’s pace attack. Sanju Samson has benefitted from his stellar run in the ongoing IPL season as he finds a spot in the 15-member group. He has been Rajasthan Royals’ highest run-scorer with 385 runs at 77 and a strike rate of 161, including four fifties.

India will start their campaign against Ireland on June 5 in New York.