Sri Lanka batter Dasun Shanaka was not run out against India, despite being stranded halfway down the pitch. Here's why.

Sri Lanka batter Dasun Shanaka was not run out against India, despite being stranded halfway down the pitch. Here's why.

India beat Sri Lanka in Asia Cup Super Over

In an Asia Cup dead rubber between the sides on Friday (September 26), India were put in to bat, and made 202-5, built primarily on Abhishek Sharma's 61 off 31 balls. In reply, Sri Lanka were looking good to record their highest run-chase in T20I cricket as Pathum Nissanka (107) and Kusal Perera (58) put on 127 in 70 balls.

As it happened though, the game came down to the final ball with Sri Lanka needing three to win – Dasun Shanaka and Janith Liyanage managed to run a double.

Super Four - Match 6, India vs Sri Lanka

Recent
India vs Sri Lanka | Asia Cup, 2025 | Super Four - Match 6
Dubai International Stadium, Dubai
Friday, September 26th, 2025 02:30pm (UTC:+0000)
IND India
IND India
202/5
(20.0) RR: 10.10
3/0
(0.1) RR: 18.00

    vs

    SL Sri Lanka
    SL Sri Lanka
    202/5
    (20.0) RR: 10.10
    2/2
    (0.5) RR: 2.40

      Shanaka returned to bat in the Super Over for Sri Lanka, and confusion ensued off the fourth ball. The batter failed to connect with Arshdeep Singh's wide yorker, as the ball went through to keeper Sanju Samson. Shanaka set off for a bye, even as non-striker Kamindu Mendis sent him back. He was mid-pitch as Samson threw the stumps down, running him out by a mile.

      However, in the meantime, Arshdeep had appealed to the bowler's end umpire for a catch, feeling that Shanaka had nicked the ball. The umpire agreed, and raised the finger. Shanaka chose to review the call, which was overturned by the TV umpire.

      He was allowed to resume his innings, even as India's players sought clarification from the on-field umpires. Shanaka ended up holing out in the deep the very next ball, giving India a target of three runs, which they chased down in one delivery.

      The Dasun Shanaka non run-out: What the Laws say

      The situation confused many, including India, who perhaps felt that Shanaka not being out caught was irrelevant, as he was then run out in any case. But there is a catch.

      • According to Article 20.1.1.3 of the Laws of the Game, “The ball becomes dead when a batter is dismissed. The ball will be deemed to be dead from the instant of the incident causing the dismissal.”
      • Additionally, Article 33.5 says, “If the criteria of 33.1 (those for a fair catch) are met and the striker is not out Bowled, then he/she is out Caught, even though a decision against either batter for another method of dismissal would be justified.”

      Reading these two together, the unfolding of events is this: Arshdeep appealed, and the umpire gave Shanaka out caught – from 33.5, the catch takes precedence over the run out. From 20.1.1.3, the ball became dead as soon as the catch was completed, i.e. when Samson gathered it behind the stumps.

      Shanaka had the right to review the call, and did so. Since the incident causing his dismissal was found to be judged wrongly, he was allowed to carry on batting. In effect, it may be considered as though the run out did not occur at all.

      These Laws hold even in contemporary times, when players have the Decision Review System (DRS) available to them, meaning there is not yet any provision in this aspect for the reversal of an umpire's decision.

      This particular quirk of the Laws has been highlighted often; mostly when batters are given out lbw on-field, the ball runs to the boundary, and the decision is overturned on review. The batter keeps their wicket, but they are not entitled to the four (or how many ever) runs via leg byes, as the ball is considered dead as soon as they are struck.

      Image credit: FanCode

      Follow Wisden for all cricket updates, including live scores, match stats, quizzes and more. Stay up to date with the latest cricket news, player updates, team standings, match highlights, video analysis and live match odds.